Disaster declared in 5 WNY counties due to long winter

grape crop wine

BUFFALO, N.Y. (WIVB) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared an agricultural disaster for 19 counties in New York, including five in Western New York.

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand urged officials to declare a disaster to send relief to grape farms and vineyards that were severely damaged by the long winter. The declaration covers primary areas in Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Oswego and Yates counties and contiguous counties, including Allegany, Cortland, Erie, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tompkins, Wayne and Wyoming.

Farmers will be eligible to apply for federal assistance to help them recover.

WIVB.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Note: Comments containing links are not allowed.

blog comments powered by Disqus