News 4 team sweeps BEMA ceremony


BUFFALO, N.Y. (WIVB) – A News 4 staffer won in five of the categories at the third annual Buffalo Excellence in Media Awards on Friday, and in a sixth category, WIVB took home TV Station of the Year.

The awards, which are presented by the non-profit Buffalo Broadcasters Association, are meant to recognize the outstanding achievements of individuals in the media here in Western New York. Impartial industry professionals from our area and across the nation judge who is most deserving of these honors, and a lot of News 4 staffers went home winners Friday night.

Of the 11 categories where a News 4 staffer was entered, a News 4 staffer won in five of them. And in a sixth category, WIVB was named the TV Station of the Year.

The other categories where News 4 won are:

TV Personality of the Year:
Steve Vesey

Rising Star Award:
Lauren Hall

Pinnacle Award:
George Richert

Best Use of Social Media:
Bryan Shaw

Sales Executive of the Year:
Phil Banas

Congratulations to the News 4 team and all of this year’s winners! provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Note: Comments containing links are not allowed.

blog comments powered by Disqus