Hasek elected to Hockey Hall of Fame


Former Sabres star Dominik Hasek earned his place in the Hockey Hall of Fame today, one of six new additions in the Class of 2014.

Hasek, a six-time Vezina Trophy winner, posted seven straight seasons in Buffalo with a save percentage of at least .930. He earned the Hart trophy as league MVP twice – in 1997 and 98 – marking the first time a goalie had won that trophy since 1962.

“After I retired I really began to appreciate what the game did for me,” said Hasek.  “My goal was just to make the NHL, and achieving this recognition is far beyond what I could have imagined.”

Hasek moved on to play for Detroit, where he won the Stanley Cup twice, in 2002 and 2008.

Joining Hasek this year will be Peter Forsberg, Mike Modano, and Rob Blake, along with Pat Burns and Bill McCreary in the builders category.

WIVB.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Note: Comments containing links are not allowed.

blog comments powered by Disqus