Federal funds approved for three WNY counties damaged by flooding

ALBANY, N.Y. (WIVB) – More than $28 million in funding will be available to Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua and eight other counties after the federal government approved Governor Andrew Cuomo’s request for a major disaster declaration.

The declaration follows severe storms and flooding in May that caused serious damage to counties in Central and Western New York. The storms began May 12 and dropped from five- to seven-inches of rain in some places is less than three hours.

On May 14, Cuomo declared a State Disaster Emergency within the impacted areas. The governor’s office says federal approval means funding is now available to state and local governments impacted by the storm on a cost-sharing basis.

The money can be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged in the storm.

WIVB.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Note: Comments containing links are not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s