Drakeford wins Porter Cup

Geoff Drakeford

LEWISTON, N.Y. (WIVB) – Australia’s Geoff Drakeford held on to his lead in the final round of the Porter Cup to win the tournament.

Drakeford entered the final round with a three-shot lead. Denny McCarthy and Beau Hossler both put pressure on Drakeford throughout the day. Ultimately Hossler and McCarthy tied for second, finishing -7. Drakeford claimed the victory by one stroke, finishing -8.

Drakeford is the 56th Porter Cup Champion.

The Porter Cup is a prestigious 72-hole amateur tournament held at the Niagara Falls Country Club in Lewiston. Many well-known PGA Tour players have competed and won the tournament. Phil Mickelson, David Duval and Scott Verplank are among the list of past champions.

WIVB.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Note: Comments containing links are not allowed.

blog comments powered by Disqus