John elected president of the Seneca Nation

ALLEGANY CATTARAUGUS TERRITORY (WIVB) – Maurice “Moe” John was elected the next president of the Seneca Nation with 66 percent of the vote. He’ll serve through 2016. He ran on the Seneca Party line.

John served as president in 2006, treasurer in 2004 and was most recently chief of staff for outgoing president Barry Snyder, Sr.

Todd Gates was elected treasurer with 61 percent of the vote and Pauline “Snap” John was elected clerk with 69 percent of the vote. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Note: Comments containing links are not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s